Blog Tours, book reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things BLOG TOUR

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things by Jacqueline Firkins

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: December 17th, 2019

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Retellings, Contemporary


In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before.

Mansfield, Massachusetts is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburbanites and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. Edie has her own plans, and they don’t include a prince charming.

But as Edie dives into schoolwork and applying for college scholarships, she finds herself drawn to two Mansfield boys who start vying for her attention. First there’s Sebastian, Edie’s childhood friend and first love. He’s sweet and smart and . . . already has a girlfriend. Then there’s Henry, the local bad boy and all-around player. He’s totally off limits, even if his kisses are chemically addictive.

Both boys are trouble. Edie can’t help but get caught between them. Someone’s heart is going to break. Now she just has to make sure it isn’t hers.


GOODREADSAMAZONBN-ITUNESBOOKDEPOSITORYKOBOGOOGLE BOOKS


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jacqueline’s a writer, costume designer, and lover of beautiful things. She’s on the fulltime faculty in the Department of Theatre & Film at the University of British Columbia where she also takes any writing class they’ll let her into. When not obsessing about where to put the buttons or the commas, she can be found running by the ocean, eating excessive amounts of gluten, listening to earnest love songs, and pretending her dog understands every word she says.

WEBSITEGRTWITTERINSTAGRAM


REVIEW

Rating: 4/5

Confession: I had no idea this was a retelling of Mansfield Park and I haven’t read that, BUT the great thing is you really don’t have to to appreciate the story!

Let’s start off with the characters. All the characters (ALL OF THEM) are flawed and I LOVE IT. And yet you still will find yourself rooting for people. It’s awesome! It’s very rare to see every character be not-so-perfect and especially when it comes to a novel with a lot of secondary characters!

Edie was really relatable in the sense that she was a musician and a reader with extensive random knowledge of quotes. I loved the scenes where she would quote authors and I especially loved the jokes she would tell!

The other main characters were Sebastian and Henry. I’m not going to lie, Henry was totally my favorite character. He was flawed and one of those typical jocks that had a soft side. Like, duh of course I’m gonna love him! I loved learning about his character and the scenes with him and edie were definitely the highlight of the book.

Sebastian was… average. Edie kept going back to him because he was the “boy next door”, but he had a girlfriend. While he and Edie’s few interactions were cute and I could see them together, I also just didn’t care for him that much. I didn’t really get why Edie was pining over him, but whatever.

Edie’s cousins were also intriguing. They weren’t completely the “snobby egotistical” girls and it was fun getting to know them especially as they started to come more into their character and stop hiding behind facades.

The plot itself had a few different layers and I was so surprised when one of my favorite tropes (I won’t say which because it’ll ruin the fun) was implemented! I liked that Edie had more than just the love interest conflict. I liked the strained relationship with her friend from back home and the little blog posts she would do to try and keep up with her.

The only reason I didn’t rate this a 5/5 was because there were a few things I had a problem with. Some of the lines were just sort of cringe-y but overall, the story was great. And though I was very very angry with how the book ended (not because it was bad, but it just didn’t go the way I hoped), this is definitely a recommendable book because it was fun and interesting!

I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys music, book quotes (especially cheesy Shakespeare), hilarious “man walks into bar” jokes, flawed and three dimensional characters, friendship drama, pining over the boy next door, really fancy parties that you have no businesses being at, really dramatic poker games, pixie sticks, and high school drama! If you like boys next door and arrogant but actually really sweet “bad” boys, really great gifts, a weird sort of love triangle and trying and failing to “find yourself” in an effort to get scholarships, this is the book for you!


BE SURE TO CHECK OUT THE REST OF THE BLOG TOUR HERE:

In addition to the blog tour, there’s also a BOOKSTAGRAM tour where we’ll be giving away 3 copies of the book along with a dress! Make sure to go check out MY INSTAGRAM for more information about the giveaway!

December 11th

The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club – Welcome Post

December 12th

Pages and Pugs – Review

We Live and Breathe Books – Review

Wishful Endings – Review

Snark & Squee – Review

Write, Read, Repeat – Review

December 13th

The Candid Cover – Guest Post

L.M. Durand – Review

Bookishly Nerdy – Review + Favourite Quotes

What’s She Reading? – Review

Devourbookswithdana – Review + Dream Cast + Favourite Quotes

December 14th

Jinxed Reviews – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes

Book Briefs – Review

Bookishaestha – Review + Favourite Quotes

Star Is All Booked Up – Review

Book Nerd Anonymous – Review

December 15th

Kait Plus Books – Interview

The Lovely Books – Review

Books of Amber – Review

The Shelf Life Chronicles – Review

The Reading Life – Promotional Post

December 16th

Here’s to Happy Endings – Review + Favourite Quotes

Jill’s Book Blog – Review

A Gingerly Review – Review + Favourite Quotes

Cover to Cover Book Blog – Review

Lala’s Book Reviews – Review

December 17th

To All The Books I’ve Read Before – Guest Post

Yna the Mood Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes

Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes

A Lovely Book Affair – Review

Jennifer Mitchell, Bibliolater – Review


And the Bookstagram Tour:

December 11th

TUABFC

The FFBC Tours

December 12th

Wishful Endings

December 13th

L.M. Durand
The Candid Cover

December 14th

Book Briefs

Star Is All Booked Up

Book Nerd Anonymous

December 15th

The Shelf Life Chronicles

December 16th

A Gingerly Review

Lala’s Book Reviews

View this post on Instagram

👫 G I V E A W A Y 💔 . . Happy Wednesday, Beautiful Bookish People! Have you visited any Christmas Markets? What is your favourite drink during winter time? . Today, we have a very cute and special book to share with you: #HeartsStringsAndOtherBreakableThings by Jacqueline Firkins. I say special, because I love summer romances, and this book is perfect for this winter because it makes me start daydreaming about summer and my favourite stories! In this novel, we meet Edie about to spend her last summer before colleague in a place she would rather not be while dealing with her mother's passing. While she keeps trying to stay focused on colleague, 2 distractions in the form of a bad-boy and her old-time crush come knocking on her door, leading to heartbreak and romance. Edie just needs to make sure she's not the one getting her heart broken! . I LOVE stories like this one and today we have partnered with Jacqueline (@jfkillsdarlings) to give you not only the chance to win a hardcopy of #HSAOBT but also a book-inspired dress! 3 designs available. 3 prizes! Swipe left to see pics (⬅️). . . ENTRIES FOR THE GIVEAWAY: ▪︎Follow @theffbc & @whatmakespatri ▪︎Follow the author @jfkillsdarlings ▪︎Follow the publishing house @hmhteen ▪︎Comment (to let us know you are participating!): Which dress do you like the most (& why)? . EXTRA ENTRIES FOR THE GIVEAWAY: ▪︎Tag a friend (each friend will be an extra entry). ▪︎Share on your stories about the giveaway (remember to tag me @whatmakespatri and @theffbc) ▪︎Follow @michellesulk & @artsyreadergirl . ▪︎Follow any other FFBC team member participating in the tour (let us know on the comment section who did you follow). Check everyone's Instagram handles below: @wishfulendings @l.m.durand @BookBriefs @stars.brite @booknerdanonymous @shelflifechronicles @agingerlyreview @lauren.bodiford . Also, stop by my site to read an interview with Jacqueline and learn more about #HSAOBT! . . #bookshimmy #giveaway #bookstagram #bookblogger #bookstagramming #bookgram #yabookstagram #ireadya #booksatgrammer #bibliophile #bookphotography #booknerd #booklover #amreading #yalit #booksofinstagram #bookgiveaway #booksbooksbooks #bookcommunity #bookworm

A post shared by Patricia Lopez (@whatmakespatri) on

2 thoughts on “Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things BLOG TOUR”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s