book recs

Books to read if you like TANGLED

There’s not that many Rapunzel retellings and since Tangled is my favorite disney movie, I thought I’d share some books that may or may not be retellings of the story, but have the same sort of vibes whether it’s the dynamic of the love interests or the general plot or the Mother Gothel villain type! I won’t say much of WHY the books are perfect for Tangled lovers because they might be spoilery, but I’ll try and elaborate!

*All links are BookShop.org affiliate links. If purchased through the link, I will get a small commission at no extra cost to you!

  1. Raybearer by Jordan Ifueko

Magic powers, kingdoms, found family! Tarisai’s mother gave me Mother Gothel vibes throughout the book!

2. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Listen I’ve actually only seen the movie but again, Mother Gothel.

3. Little Thieves by Margaret Owen

The actual dynamic of the love interests is Eleanor and Chidi. HOWEVER, the sass and narration of our protagonist Vanja is very much Flynn Rider esque (no, not Eugene)

4. Among the Beasts and Briars by Ashley Poston

THERE’S A KINGDOM DANCE SCENE THAT’S ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW.

5. Nocturna by Maya Motayne

can you imagine Luka starting the story with “This is the story of how I died…”? But also. Finn has the Flynn Rider reformed to Eugene vibes it’s fabulous I love her and I love mr soft sunshine prince Alfie!

6. Rumaysa: A Fairytale by Radiya Hafiz

This featured a hijabi Rapunzel! A dream come true for me!

Bonus books for Tangled fans that are pretty obvious:

Lost Legends: The Rise of Flynn Rider by Jen Calonita! This is young Eugene’s backstory perfect for fans of the Tangled TV Show because of all the amazing cameos and nods to the show!

What Once Was Mine by Liz Braswell is a twisted tale answering the question: what if Rapunzel’s mother drank from the Moon Drop flower instead of the Sun Drop? This also, I think, would be something that the show fans would love a little more because of all the dark Rapunzel stuff that the show explored!

Have you read any of these? Or do you have any book recommendations for those of us NewDream fans?

1 thought on “Books to read if you like TANGLED”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s