Blog Tours, book reviews

Truly, Madly, Royally: Blog Tour + REVIEW

Truly Madly Royally by Debbie Rigaud

Release Date: July 30th, 2019

Genre: Contemporary, YA, Romance

Publisher: Point


Fiercely independent and smart, Zora Emerson wants to change the world. She’s excited to be attending a prestigious summer program, even if she feels out of place among her privileged, mostly white classmates. So she’s definitely not expecting to feel a connection to Owen, who’s an actual prince of an island off the coast of England. But Owen is funny, charming…and undeniably cute. Zora can’t ignore the chemistry between them. When Owen invites Zora to be his date at his big brother’s big royal wedding, Zora is suddenly thrust into the spotlight, along with her family and friends. Everyone is talking about her, in real life and online, and while Owen is used to the scrutiny, Zora’s not sure it’s something she can live with. Can she maintain her sense of self while moving between two very different worlds? And can her feelings for Owen survive and thrive in the midst of the crazy? Find out in this charming romantic comedy that’s like The Princess Diaries for a new generation.


LINKS

GOODREADSAMAZONB&NITUNESBOOKDEPOSITORYGOOGLEBOOKSKOBO

MY REVIEW

Rating: 3/5

Overall, the book was a really cute, fun and light read! The story itself was like a Cinderella Story, so you can obviously expect the *gasp* cheesy drama, and the fun, sort of guilty pleasure type of vibe to it!

Let’s start with the characters: Zora was cute and presented as a cool, sort of “better than everyone because she isn’t rich” girl, which was cliche, but in a fun way if that makes sense. I thought her voice was fun to read, especially because she was a very vocal and passionate character, though she did come off as judgmental at first. Though she went through some character development, I feel like her character could have been developed more!

Zora’s passion for learning about Black History and caring for her community was a nice touch and added some charm to the little town and added some depth to the character and the story. It was definitely a nice touch for younger readers maybe to spark some interest in that topic!

I enjoyed the banter and friendships in the story. Of course, the drama that came with the whole dating the royal thing was fun, and it was great to see that progression, though I do wish there was more chemistry. Of course, the meet cute and this whole idea is one of my favorite tropes, so it was all just cute fun!

I would have loved to see more interactions between Zora and her brother and best friend, but the story that was given was also good. If you’re looking for a quick, fun, quirky book this would be something you would enjoy!

I think this would be perfectly suited for fans of Kasie West or Morgan Matson, especially young contemporary readers. If you like meet cutes, Princess Diaries or A Cinderella Story, cheesy adorable royals, determined girls that want to help kids, and need a serious guilty pleasure book, this is for you!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

YA author Debbie M. Rigaud began her writing career covering news and entertainment for magazines. She’s interviewed celebs, politicians, social figures and “real” girls. Her writing has appeared in Seventeen, CosmoGIRL!, Essence, J-14, Trace, Heart&Soul and Vibe Vixen, to name a few. Her first YA fiction writing was published in the anthology HALLWAY DIARIES (KimaniTru Press/September 2007). Her first standalone YA book–a Simon Pulse romantic comedy titled PERFECT SHOT–is due out in the Fall of 2009.

AUTHOR LINKS

AUTHOR WEBSITEGRTWITTERINSTAGRAMFB


GIVEAWAY FOR 2 COPIES OF THE BOOK (US ONLY)

a Rafflecopter giveaway https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

LINK TO GIVEAWAY: CLICK HERE


TOUR DATES

July 24th

The Unofficial Addiction Book Fan Club – Welcome Post

July 25th

Book Slaying – Guest Post

Book Rambler – Review

The Clever Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes

Bookmark Lit – Review

July 26th

Musings of a (Book) Girl – Review + Favourite Quotes

Wishful Endings – Review

Struck by Stories – Review

Phannie the ginger bookworm – Review + Favourite Quotes

July 27th

Bookishly Nerdy – Review + Favourite Quotes

Star is All Booked Up – Review

Confessions of a YA Reader – Promotional Post

Flying Paperbacks  – Review + Favourite Quotes

July 28th

The Layaway Dragon – Review + Favourite Quotes

Andi’s ABCs – ReviewInky Moments – Review + Favourite Quotes

Kait Plus Books – Review + Favourite Quotes

July 29th

We Live and Breathe Books – Review

The Candid Cover – Review + Playlist

The Reading Faery – Review + Favourite Quotes

Magical Reads – Review + Playlist

July 30th

Moonlight Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes

The Bibliophile Confessions – Review + Favourite Quotes

Bookish_Kali – Review + Favourite Quotes

A Dream Within A Dream – Promotional Post

4 thoughts on “Truly, Madly, Royally: Blog Tour + REVIEW”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s