book reviews

The Zumra Original Book Tag

(Character art by Arz28)

This has been a long time coming and honestly I was shocked that a) I hadn’t made a tag yet and b) no one else did either?! Also I have a ton of ideas for different tags to do based on this book? Like maybe one for affinities… one for the caliphates? Would you guys be interested in those as well?

SO ANYWAY here we go! Feel free to use the header graphic if you want. Tag a few people, share the love for the zumra!


Zafira Bint Iskandar: An Emotionally driven character (or book)

I think THORN by Intisar Khanani is a very emotionally driven book. It’s a Goose Girl retelling and features a lot of dark content but the book was so well done and I was incredibly attached to the characters.

Nasir Ghameq: angsty boy A character that’s conflicted/at war with themselves

I mean really… Elias Veturius is at war with himself throughout the series and he deserves a hug

Kifah Darwish: A book with lots of food in it (or another foodie character)

I remember my mouth watering a lot while reading this book because of the delicious food descriptions!

Benyamin Haadi: A book with a “Mom” character (or a book with wisdom you didn’t seek)

I don’t know how to explain that Jameela was definitely a mom character. Always prepared, fierce and sort of stubborn and wanting to be a journalist. On top of that, this book made me cry and talked about family and friendship and I really didn’t expect to be bombarded with so many feelings!

Altair Al-Badawi: A Secretive character (or a book that kept you guessing)

I know this hasn’t come out yet but it works for TGW as well. I swear, Severin really just needed to be SLAPPED but also he really needs to STOP KEEPING SECRETS.

I know the next three aren’t technically a part of the “zumra” BUT OH WELL.

Deen Ra’ad: A simp A pure cinnamon roll

If you haven’t read ASOWAR what are you doing?! I will protect Malik with my life

Yasmine Ra’ad: A Character you wouldn’t want on your bad side

Yeah Gu Miyoung is SCARY and intimidating and I would NEVER want to be on her bad side.

Lana bint Iskandar: A character that has to grow up too quickly : (

Everyone in this series was forced to grow up so quickly because of their circumstances and it HURTS.


I physically had to restrain myself from typing out We Hunt the Flame for every answer because the whole tag is based off the book???? I may or may not have a problem here.

ANYWAY, I hope you enjoyed this tag! I tag:

Fanna @ Fannatality

Neelam @ The Tsundoku Chronicles

Mis @ Mis Hashmi

Anandi @ Sleepy Doe Reads

Kritika @ Snowflakes & Spider Silk

Saynab @ Saynab Reads Books

Noura @ Perks of Being Noura

Azeezat @ Fine Words Weave

Cait @ Caits Books

Kat @ Kat From Minas Morgul

16 thoughts on “The Zumra Original Book Tag”

  1. DEEN: A SIMP is the most accurate! And ahh, I love this tag so much ❤ The books you mentioned are so great like YES ❤ Catching Fire,,, yeah makes me sad too. And ooh, Severin needs to spill everything ugh. Thorn was so good! I need to read the other books 😀 Thank you for the tag!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is such a fun tag! I met Hena Khan when she spoke at an event in DC, and she is just as fierce as her characters 😀 I was so impressed by how she commanded the room and was so unapologetic as to her motives for writing, how she writes, what she selects as her covers, etc. It was absolutely incredible to see a brown woman like that! Now you’re making me want to read all the rest on this list 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Zumra Book Tag

Leave a comment